GPT-6.1 Terra

Language OpenAI Verified Released Oct 26, 2026
  • In Input modalities: TextImage Out Output modalities: Text
  • Reasoning· none, low, medium, high, xhigh, max
  • Reasoning can be off
  • Tool use
  • Structured output

Prices

3 offerings · prices as listed
OpenAI API (opens in a new tab) Official Global · USD gpt-6.1-terra
Conditions/ 1M tokensInputCache readCache writeCache writeOutput
30-minute cache12-hour cache
Standard $1.00$0.050$1.25$1.25$2.50$5.00
Prompts over 272K tokens $2.00$0.10—$2.50$5.00$7.50
Flex tier $0.50$0.025—$0.625$1.25$2.50
Fast tier $2.00$0.10—$2.50$5.00$10.00
Batch $0.50$0.025—$0.625$1.25$2.50
Prompts over 272K tokensFlex tier $1.00$0.050—$1.25$2.50$3.75
Prompts over 272K tokensFast tier $4.00$0.20—$5.00$10.00$15.00
Prompts over 272K tokensBatch $1.00$0.050—$1.25$2.50$3.75

Prices from OpenAI API pricing (opens in a new tab) (checked Nov 2, 2026) · GPT-6.1 Terra model (opens in a new tab) (checked Nov 2, 2026)

Standard: the price a request with no conditions pays (the headline price elsewhere on the site).

Details

Max input
922K
Knowledge cutoff
Jun 2026
Family
gpt-terra
Model ID

Not stated on OpenAI’s pages: max thinking budget, aliases.

Cited scores

From third-party leaderboards, not measured by us
  • Epoch Capabilities Index 167.8

    #4 of 118 listed models · CI 164.9–171.2

  • Epoch AI · EBR-bench 78.1%

    #1 of 28 listed models · max effort · ±5.13

  • Epoch AI · FrontierMath Tier 4 v2 92.7%

    #4 of 65 listed models · max effort · ±4.12

  • Epoch AI · FrontierMath Tiers 1–3 90.9%

    #4 of 84 listed models · max effort · ±1.71

  • Epoch AI, 'Capabilities & benchmarking'. Published online at epoch.ai. Retrieved from 'https://epoch.ai/benchmarks'. Licensed CC BY 4.0. · License · as of Oct 28 – Nov 5, 2026
  • LMArena (Arena), leaderboard-dataset on Hugging Face, licensed CC BY 4.0 · License · as of Oct 28, 2026
  • changes we made

Included in coding plans

  • Estimated 35–285 messages every 5 hours · local messages
  • Estimated 35–285 messages every 5 hours · local messages
  • GitHub Copilot Pro $10.00 / month
    1,500 credits per month
    Variable additional usage on top of your base. Flex allotments may change over time.
    15 USD of usage per month
  • GitHub Copilot Pro+ $39.00 / month
    7,000 credits per month
    Variable additional usage on top of your base. Flex allotments may change over time.
    70 USD of usage per month
  • GitHub Copilot Max $100.00 / month
    20,000 credits per month
    Variable additional usage on top of your base. Flex allotments may change over time.
  • GitHub Copilot Business $19.00 / month
    1,900 credits per month
  • 3,900 credits per month

All coding plans →

  • Oct 26, 2026Release OpenAI releases GPT-6.1 Terra OpenAI released GPT-6.1 Terra for the Responses API and Chat Completions API.
  • Oct 26, 2026Release OpenAI makes GPT-6.1 Terra available in Work and Codex GPT-6.1 Terra is available in ChatGPT Work and Codex for Plus, Pro, Business, Enterprise, and Edu plans. It is not available in Chat, and Enterprise access depends on workspace availability and administrator controls.
  1. Now priced on Azure OpenAI in Foundry, Data zone Input (Long context (threshold not stated)) $2.20 · Cache read (Long context (threshold not stated)) $0.11 · Cache write (Long context (threshold not stated)) $2.75 · Output (Long context (threshold not stated)) $8.25
  2. Now priced on Azure OpenAI in Foundry Input (Long context (threshold not stated)) $2.00 · Cache read (Long context (threshold not stated)) $0.10 · Cache write (Long context (threshold not stated)) $2.50 · Output (Long context (threshold not stated)) $7.50
  3. New language model

Sources

OpenAI’s official policies: data use, privacy, terms →

OpenAI · United States · openai.com

Snapshots, the same family and other models from this provider