Kimi K3vsMiniMax-M3
Both language models, compared at each maker’s own API list prices. Every figure links to its source.
Compare at your usage
Every model priced for the same request8,000 tokens in, 2,000 out
| Kimi K3 on Moonshot AI Platform | MiniMax-M3 on MiniMax API | |
|---|---|---|
| Rate applied | Base rate | Base rate |
| Inputper 1M tokens | $3.00 | $0.30 |
| Cache readper 1M tokens | $0.30 | $0.060 |
| Outputper 1M tokens | $15.00 | $1.20 |
| Cost per request | $0.054 | $0.0048 |
| Per 1,000 requests | $54.00 | $4.80 |
- Kimi K3 Moonshot AI platform pricing · as of Nov 1, 2026
- MiniMax-M3 Pricing Overview - MiniMax API Docs · as of Nov 1, 2026
Every model is priced for the same request at its maker’s own list prices (each with its source and date), so bold marks the cheapest. A model that can’t serve the request is named, not ranked; a condition its seller doesn’t price says which rate was used.
Cost per request as prompts grow
2K tokens out, list price on each maker’s API. MiniMax-M3 charges $0.60 / $2.40 above 512K tokens. A line ends at the model’s context window.
- Kimi K3 · Moonshot AI Platform
- MiniMax-M3 · MiniMax API
Where each stands among all scored models
Each line runs from the lowest to the highest score on the board; the tick is the median.
- Kimi K3
- MiniMax-M3
Key differences
These differences use verified vendor specifications or each maker’s official API on the same region, currency, meter and billing conditions. Different conditions remain side by side in the full table; they do not establish which model is cheaper. Declared features describe support, not measured quality or a recommendation. Missing evidence does not mean a feature is unsupported.
Full comparison
| Kimi K3 Moonshot AI | MiniMax-M3 MiniMax | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | Jul 2026 | Jun 1, 2026 |
| Open weights | ||
| Specs | ||
| Context | 1.05M | 1M |
| Max output | 1.05M | 512K |
| Input modalities | Text, Image, Video | Text, Image, Video |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Reasoning | ||
| Reasoning efforts | low, high, max | Not stated |
| Reasoning can be off | ||
| Tool use | ||
| Structured output | Not stated | |
| Pricing · per 1M tokens | ||
| Input price | $3.00 | $0.30 |
| Output price | $15.00 | $1.20 |
| Cache read price | $0.30 | $0.060 |
| Cache write price | $3.005-minute cache | — |
| Cache write price (1-hour cache) | $6.001-hour cache | Not offered |
| Blended price (3 input : 1 output) | $6.00 | $0.525 |
| Pricing under conditions · per 1M tokens | ||
| Input price, long prompts | Not offered | $0.60Prompts over 512K tokens |
| Output price, long prompts | Not offered | $2.40Prompts over 512K tokens |
| Priority tier input price | Not offered | $0.45Priority tier |
| Priority tier output price | Not offered | $1.80Priority tier |
| Cited scores | ||
| Epoch Capabilities Index | 158.5 | 147.6 |
| LMArena Text | 1,488 max effort | 1,439 |
| LMArena Text · Coding | 1,540 max effort | 1,495 |
| LMArena Vision | — | 1,251 |
| LMArena Text · Chinese | 1,543 max effort | 1,472 |
| Epoch AI · GPQA Diamond | 93.1% max effort | 90.9% |
| Epoch AI · FrontierMath Tiers 1–3 | 72.2% max effort | — |
Headline prices may come from different channels, regions or tiers. Check each source before choosing a model; missing facts stay blank.
Model details and sources
- Kimi K3 → Available
- MiniMax-M3 → Available
Cited scores
- Epoch AI, 'Capabilities & benchmarking'. Published online at epoch.ai. Retrieved from 'https://epoch.ai/benchmarks'. Licensed CC BY 4.0. · Epoch AI Benchmarking Hub data · CC BY 4.0 · as of Nov 5, 2026
- Epoch AI, 'Capabilities & benchmarking'. Published online at epoch.ai. Retrieved from 'https://epoch.ai/benchmarks'. Licensed CC BY 4.0. · Epoch AI Benchmarking Hub data · CC BY 4.0 · as of Oct 28, 2026
- Epoch AI, 'Capabilities & benchmarking'. Published online at epoch.ai. Retrieved from 'https://epoch.ai/benchmarks'. Licensed CC BY 4.0. · Epoch AI Benchmarking Hub data · CC BY 4.0 · as of Nov 4, 2026
- EQ-Bench by Samuel J. Paech (eqbench.com; EQ-bench/EQ-bench-site on GitHub), MIT License. · EQ-Bench: 4 · MIT · as of Oct 24, 2026
- EQ-Bench by Samuel J. Paech (eqbench.com; EQ-bench/EQ-bench-site on GitHub), MIT License. · EQ-Bench: Longform Writing · MIT · as of Oct 28, 2026
- LiveBench (White et al.), release 2026-06-25, livebench.ai, licensed CC BY-SA 4.0. This board, adapted from it, is shared under CC BY-SA 4.0. · LiveBench release 2026-06-25 · CC BY-SA 4.0 · as of Jun 25, 2026
- LMArena (Arena), leaderboard-dataset on Hugging Face, licensed CC BY 4.0 · LMArena leaderboard dataset (Hugging Face) · CC BY 4.0 · as of Oct 28, 2026
- LMArena (Arena), leaderboard-dataset on Hugging Face, licensed CC BY 4.0 · LMArena leaderboard dataset (Hugging Face) · CC BY 4.0 · as of Sep 13, 2026
- LMArena (Arena), leaderboard-dataset on Hugging Face, licensed CC BY 4.0 · LMArena leaderboard dataset (Hugging Face) · CC BY 4.0 · as of Oct 19, 2026