GPT-5 nanovsQwen3.8-Flash
Both language models, compared at each maker’s own API list prices. Every figure links to its source.
Compare at your usage
Every model priced for the same request8,000 tokens in, 2,000 out
| GPT-5 nano on OpenAI API | Qwen3.8-Flash on Alibaba Cloud Model Studio | |
|---|---|---|
| Rate applied | Base rate | Base rate |
| Inputper 1M tokens | $0.050 | $0.113 |
| Cache readper 1M tokens | $0.005 | $0.014 |
| Outputper 1M tokens | $0.40 | $0.382 |
| Cost per request | $0.0012 | $0.001668 |
| Per 1,000 requests | $1.20 | $1.668 |
- GPT-5 nano OpenAI API pricing · as of Nov 2, 2026
- Qwen3.8-Flash Alibaba Cloud Model Studio pricing · as of Nov 2, 2026 · Qwen3.8 Flash model · as of Nov 1, 2026
Every model is priced for the same request at its maker’s own list prices (each with its source and date), so bold marks the cheapest. A model that can’t serve the request is named, not ranked; a condition its seller doesn’t price says which rate was used.
Cost per request as prompts grow
2K tokens out, list price on each maker’s API. A line ends at the model’s context window.
- GPT-5 nano · OpenAI API
- Qwen3.8-Flash · Alibaba Cloud Model Studio
Key differences
These differences use verified vendor specifications or each maker’s official API on the same region, currency, meter and billing conditions. Different conditions remain side by side in the full table; they do not establish which model is cheaper. Declared features describe support, not measured quality or a recommendation. Missing evidence does not mean a feature is unsupported.
Full comparison
| GPT-5 nano OpenAI | Qwen3.8-Flash Alibaba Qwen | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | Aug 7, 2025 | Aug 26, 2026 |
| Open weights | — | — |
| Knowledge cutoff | May 2024 | Not stated |
| Specs | ||
| Context | 400K | 1M |
| Max input | 272K | 991.81K |
| Max output | 128K | 131.07K |
| Input modalities | Text, Image | Text, Image, Video |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Reasoning | ||
| Reasoning efforts | minimal, low, medium, high | low, medium, xhigh |
| Reasoning can be off | Not stated | |
| Max thinking budget | Not stated | 262.14K |
| Tool use | ||
| Structured output | ||
| Built-in tools | Not stated | Web search |
| Pricing · per 1M tokens | ||
| Input price | $0.050 | $0.113 |
| Output price | $0.40 | $0.382 |
| Cache read price | $0.005 | $0.014 |
| Cache write price | — | $0.177Explicit cache |
| Blended price (3 input : 1 output) | $0.1375 | $0.18025 |
| Pricing under conditions · per 1M tokens | ||
| Batch input price | $0.025Batch | Not offered |
| Batch output price | $0.20Batch | Not offered |
| Flex tier input price | $0.025Flex tier | Not offered |
| Flex tier output price | $0.20Flex tier | Not offered |
| Cited scores | ||
| Epoch Capabilities Index | 139.2 | — |
| LMArena Text | 1,338 high effort | — |
| LMArena Text · Coding | 1,385 high effort | — |
| LMArena Vision | 1,160 high effort | — |
| LMArena Text · Chinese | 1,378 high effort | — |
Headline prices may come from different channels, regions or tiers. Check each source before choosing a model; missing facts stay blank.
Model details and sources
- GPT-5 nano → Deprecated · as of Nov 1, 2026
- Qwen3.8-Flash → Available
Cited scores
- Epoch AI, 'Capabilities & benchmarking'. Published online at epoch.ai. Retrieved from 'https://epoch.ai/benchmarks'. Licensed CC BY 4.0. · Epoch AI Benchmarking Hub data · CC BY 4.0 · as of Nov 5, 2026
- LMArena (Arena), leaderboard-dataset on Hugging Face, licensed CC BY 4.0 · LMArena leaderboard dataset (Hugging Face) · CC BY 4.0 · as of Oct 28, 2026
- LMArena (Arena), leaderboard-dataset on Hugging Face, licensed CC BY 4.0 · LMArena leaderboard dataset (Hugging Face) · CC BY 4.0 · as of Oct 19, 2026