Claude Haiku 5.5vsGPT-5 nano
Both language models, compared at each maker’s own API list prices. Every figure links to its source.
Compare at your usage
Every model priced for the same request8,000 tokens in, 2,000 out
| Claude Haiku 5.5 on Claude API | GPT-5 nano on OpenAI API | |
|---|---|---|
| Rate applied | Base rate | Base rate |
| Inputper 1M tokens | $0.10 | $0.050 |
| Cache readper 1M tokens | $0.010 | $0.005 |
| Outputper 1M tokens | $0.50 | $0.40 |
| Cost per request | $0.0018 | $0.0012 |
| Per 1,000 requests | $1.80 | $1.20 |
- Claude Haiku 5.5 Claude API pricing · as of Nov 1, 2026
- GPT-5 nano OpenAI API pricing · as of Nov 2, 2026
Every model is priced for the same request at its maker’s own list prices (each with its source and date), so bold marks the cheapest. A model that can’t serve the request is named, not ranked; a condition its seller doesn’t price says which rate was used.
Cost per request as prompts grow
2K tokens out, list price on each maker’s API. Claude Haiku 5.5 charges $0.50 / $2.50 above 100K tokens. A line ends at the model’s context window.
- Claude Haiku 5.5 · Claude API
- GPT-5 nano · OpenAI API
Where each stands among all scored models
Each line runs from the lowest to the highest score on the board; the tick is the median.
- Claude Haiku 5.5
- GPT-5 nano
Key differences
These differences use verified vendor specifications or each maker’s official API on the same region, currency, meter and billing conditions. Different conditions remain side by side in the full table; they do not establish which model is cheaper. Declared features describe support, not measured quality or a recommendation. Missing evidence does not mean a feature is unsupported.
Full comparison
| Claude Haiku 5.5 Anthropic | GPT-5 nano OpenAI | |
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Released | Oct 7, 2026 | Aug 7, 2025 |
| Open weights | — | — |
| Knowledge cutoff | Jun 2026 | May 2024 |
| Specs | ||
| Context | 1M | 400K |
| Max input | Not stated | 272K |
| Max output | 128K | 128K |
| Input modalities | Text, Image | Text, Image |
| Output modalities | Text | Text |
| Reasoning | ||
| Reasoning efforts | Not stated | minimal, low, medium, high |
| Reasoning can be off | Not stated | |
| Tool use | ||
| Structured output | ||
| Pricing · per 1M tokens | ||
| Input price | $0.10 | $0.050 |
| Output price | $0.50 | $0.40 |
| Cache read price | $0.010 | $0.005 |
| Cache write price | $0.1255-minute cache | — |
| Cache write price (1-hour cache) | $0.201-hour cache | Not offered |
| Blended price (3 input : 1 output) | $0.20 | $0.1375 |
| Pricing under conditions · per 1M tokens | ||
| Input price, long prompts | $0.50Prompts over 100K tokens | Not offered |
| Output price, long prompts | $2.50Prompts over 100K tokens | Not offered |
| Batch input price | $0.050Batch | $0.025Batch |
| Batch output price | $0.25Batch | $0.20Batch |
| Flex tier input price | Not offered | $0.025Flex tier |
| Flex tier output price | Not offered | $0.20Flex tier |
| Cited scores | ||
| Epoch Capabilities Index | 160.2 | 139.2 |
| LMArena Text | 1,425 high effort | 1,338 high effort |
| LMArena Text · Coding | 1,489 high effort | 1,385 high effort |
| LMArena Vision | — | 1,160 high effort |
| LMArena Text · Chinese | 1,468 high effort | 1,378 high effort |
| Epoch AI · GPQA Diamond | 89.6% max effort | — |
| Epoch AI · FrontierMath Tiers 1–3 | 75.1% max effort | — |
Headline prices may come from different channels, regions or tiers. Check each source before choosing a model; missing facts stay blank.
Model details and sources
- Claude Haiku 5.5 → Available
- GPT-5 nano → Deprecated · as of Nov 1, 2026
Cited scores
- Epoch AI, 'Capabilities & benchmarking'. Published online at epoch.ai. Retrieved from 'https://epoch.ai/benchmarks'. Licensed CC BY 4.0. · Epoch AI Benchmarking Hub data · CC BY 4.0 · as of Nov 5, 2026
- Epoch AI, 'Capabilities & benchmarking'. Published online at epoch.ai. Retrieved from 'https://epoch.ai/benchmarks'. Licensed CC BY 4.0. · Epoch AI Benchmarking Hub data · CC BY 4.0 · as of Oct 28, 2026
- Epoch AI, 'Capabilities & benchmarking'. Published online at epoch.ai. Retrieved from 'https://epoch.ai/benchmarks'. Licensed CC BY 4.0. · Epoch AI Benchmarking Hub data · CC BY 4.0 · as of Nov 4, 2026
- LiveBench (White et al.), release 2026-06-25, livebench.ai, licensed CC BY-SA 4.0. This board, adapted from it, is shared under CC BY-SA 4.0. · LiveBench release 2026-06-25 · CC BY-SA 4.0 · as of Jun 25, 2026
- LMArena (Arena), leaderboard-dataset on Hugging Face, licensed CC BY 4.0 · LMArena leaderboard dataset (Hugging Face) · CC BY 4.0 · as of Oct 28, 2026
- LMArena (Arena), leaderboard-dataset on Hugging Face, licensed CC BY 4.0 · LMArena leaderboard dataset (Hugging Face) · CC BY 4.0 · as of Oct 19, 2026